Florence

It’s a strange experience to be typing in a bus that has wi-fi connection but seats so close one to the other that I have to move my arms retracted in an extremely clumsy position to be able to type. If I had shorter arms like a tyrannosaurus rex now, it would be ideal. Unfortunately that is not the case so I am condemned to type a short post, since the shaking of the bus also does not help.

Nevertheless, I would like to apologize to my five nice readers for the lack of recent posts. I have been traveling in Italy. Fara Sabina, Rome and today Firenze.

I will post more about it all later, but for now: Firenze is beautiful. It is a shame that I nded up staying only seven hours in the city, not enough to see all that it can offer. I walked the full 441 steps of the stairway of the Torre di Giotto at the Duomo. I was so high up over the city that I had to switch my phone to airplane mode, just in case. The view was breathtaking, or maybe I was just out of breath because of the long ascent.

Nevertheless, I don’t care so much for views, so I skipped the 464 steps needed to go up the cupola (the ticket gives you the right to go up both) and went directly to the Uffizzi museum, which, luckily, did not have more than a few steps.

Too much to see there and not enough time to comment. My favorite was the Boticelli room. Michelangelo is a genius, but I have to say that, at least in this trip to Italy, I was mightily impressed by Bernini and Boticelli.

There are no Berninis at the Uffizzi (they are mostly at the Galeria Borghese at Rome, of which I will talk another time), and the David of Michelangelo is not there either (it is at the Gallery of the Academy). But there are several paintings by Boticelli, including The Birth of Venus.

No one paints women like Boticelli. His Venus is just perfect in her beauty and serenity. His Madonnas are also beautiful.

Veronese and Tintoretto have also impressed me. And I really liked some Roman sculptures exhibited on the corridors. But there is so much art you can take before fatigue sets in, so I rapidly passed by the session of non-Italian painters (one Velasquez, the Adam and Eve by Cranach the Elder, three self-portraits by Rembrandt) and I went out for a bit of air.

Sunset by the Pontevecchio perfectly closed the journey. But yes, one day is not enough to see Florence.

About Tom C

Teacher, translator, perhaps writer.
Aside | This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

